2015 Reading Challenge, Book 36: We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

This was a book that hooked me on the blurb but then almost lost me in the initial reveal. Rosemary is in college, she never talks about her family so no one knows how dysfunctional her parents are, or that her brother has been missing for years, or that when she was little, she lost her sister, Fern, under tragic circumstances.

Now I’m not going to tell you the nature of the loss or anything about Fern. Suffice it to say I was non-plussed at first to find out and considered stopping as my expectations had been thwarted, but I didn’t give up and I soon lost myself in this wonderful, insightful, heart-breakingly beautiful novel. I’ve read reviews that say this book is disconnected from its central story and loses focus, that could not be further from the truth; this book is precisely what the author intended it to be. And it is wonderful.

Deeply sad, deeply moving, beautifully written, and wonderful. Go forth and read it.

You can buy this book in the UK here

And in the US here

Leave a Reply

