2015 Reading Challenge, Book 31: The Slynx by Tatyana Tolstaya

I forgot to mention so much that I love about this book, the Consequences for instance – mutations that everyone after The Blast is born with, some horrific, others barely noticeable. This terrific satire of Russian literature and culture, of modern culture in general is such a wonderful, complex, meaty read, that I was bound to forget how many things I’d have talked about if I’d have made the video right after reading it.

All I can do is tell you to find it and read it. Yes, it’s weird and a little bit mad, yes you have to pay attention, to engage, to immerse entirely in the world in order to comprehend it, but that should be easy if you’re a reader like I am. If you read books to disappear into new worlds that sometimes make marvellous mockery of the real one, I wholeheartedly encourage to lose yourself in The Slynx.

Gloriously written and accomplished, wonderfully funny and irreverent and serious and terrible and thought-provoking. Everything a great book should be. Translated beautifully, or so I imagine, being entirely unable to read it in the original language but absolutely convinced of its glories in English.

You can buy this book in the UK here

And in the US here

Leave a Reply

