Poetic Interlude… Ten Minutes Under A Rainstorm

Within seconds my hair
Drapes down flat, stuck to shirt
Shirt stuck to skin
Sucked to skin
To goosebumps and cringing flesh
Jeans dyed deeper grey
Clammy
I wear these for magic
My ugly second skin

Shoes soak, toes swim
Amphibious extremities
But I’m running most unfroglike
Splashing crowns in my wake
Kings and Queens
Elementals
All howling laughter up the backs
Of my legs

Around me world hisses
Rain tongues the ground snakelike
Aggressive
There are monsters here
Formed of water
Sea snakes entwined in watery crowns
Twined around my legs
Holding my ugly second skin tight
To freezing flesh

I’m so wet I blur into rain
I rain
We rain
We reign this water-logged
And snake-filled valley
Of Kings and Queens
We are all royal here
And soaked to the bone
I breathe in more water than air
Become amphibious
Yet still I run rather than swim to safety

One thought on “Poetic Interlude… Ten Minutes Under A Rainstorm

Leave a Reply

