2015 Reading Challenge, Book 17: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (based on an original idea by Siobhan Dowd)

It’s my four year anniversary on WordPress today! Weird. And quite cool. Wanted to say WELCOME to all my new followers and I hope you’re enjoying the content here. Please feel free to comment, as I do enjoy reading and answering comments! Now on to the business at hand.

A Monster Calls was written by Patrick Ness based on an original idea by the YA writer Siobhan Dowd, who very sadly passed away at a very young age. Judging by the idea he’s had to build on here she was pretty special, so I’ll definitely be checking out the four books she had published.

Patrick Ness is a terrific writer, he’s built a wonderful story around Siobhan’s idea. It’s the story of a young boy, Conor, whose mum is pretty much dying from late stage cancer and he’s struggling to not only deal with it but other things going on at school and home. His father is in the states, married to a new woman and with a new baby, and his grandmother is not someone he gets on with. He’s having a very specific nightmare about his mum, too, one that wakes him most nights screaming.

Into this, a monster calls. Specifically Cernunnos, walking in the guise of the Yew tree in Conor’s garden. He has come, he says, because Conor called, and has three stories to tell. Once he’s done, Conor will tell him a story and that story will be the truth or he will eat Conor. This book is powerful, visceral and beautifully written, I loved it. A difficult subject handled in a masterful fashion.

You can buy this book in the UK here (I’d recommend the illustrated version)

Or in the US here

2 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenge, Book 17: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (based on an original idea by Siobhan Dowd)

  1. I have been reading your blog for about a month and I’m so glad I discovered it. I believe I did when I was looking for information about schizoid and avoidant personality, and your book challenge is definitely a major bonus. You have helped me discover books I would never have heard about.
    What is this book challenge about anyway? Is it an incentive to read more, or to read books you ususally don’t choose?

    Incidentally, MHM was and is very useful. This is a blog I’ll be happy to frequent!

    1. Aw thank you so much for commenting! Sorry to be so long replying, bloomin’ half term means my time disappears.
      I found the reading challenge on pinterest and decided to use it to help me get back into reading widely as I used to but stopped due to time/concentration issues. It’s helped a lot! So much so I’ve been able to start reviewing any old book I’m currently reading as well.
      Glad to have you reading my blog! I do hope you’ll comment again if so moved. 🙂
      Ren

Leave a Reply

