2015 Reading Challenge, Book 16: The Death House by Sarah Pinborough

I bought this book on my kindle as I’ve heard many many good things about both the author and the book. It’s a near future tale of kids held in isolation on an island because they possess a defective gene that will eventually cause a condition that will kill them. The arrival of a new girl disrupts the status quo and sets off a chain of events that lead to revelations and tragedy.

This is a wonderfully written book, with terrific character development. It’s heartbreaking and quite wise and very insightful about the inner world of kids and teens. I wasn’t as swept away emotionally by the ending as some people obviously were, it kind of annoyed me, though it made absolute logical sense in the context of both story and characters.

I guess I’m just an old, unromantic fart.

You can buy this book in the UK here

And in the US here

Leave a Reply

