2015 Reading Challenge, Book 10: The Secret History by Donna Tartt

As I said last week, this book made me very angry. The whole TL;DR version is that the snobbery of the characters, including lower working class protagonist Richard Papen, was not a device but an attitude bled throughout the book. One too pervasive to be dismissed as a mere plot point or character facet. Yeah, I got pretty angry and disgusted reading this, for all the wrong reasons. We’re supposed to be horrified by the actions of these kids but I was entirely unsurprised. Why wouldn’t they act like this. Their narcissistic self-absorption makes such grotesque behaviour easy, even if their conscience suffers. The point is they don’t expect to suffer, they actually believe it is simple.

I’ve read a few other reviews of this book before filming this as I was interested to see if my viewpoint of this pervasive snobbery was shared. It is not. So I wonder if the other reviewers simply thought it was part of the story (though none specified such) or if they, being from a similar background to the author, thought nothing of it. It’s amazing what we fail to notice when it becomes habitual or usual. Rather like institutionalised patriarchy etc etc.

Anyway, here is my vloggish review. Hope you enjoy it.

You can buy this book in the UK here

And in the US here

Leave a Reply

