2015 Reading Challenge, Book 9: The Killing Moon by N.K. Jemisin

I made a decision with this book, the ‘Book with magic in’, to return to fantasy. I’ve avoided fantasy since my late teens as I kinda got super bored of it. A lot of it felt the same and/or too feckin’ long. Too much stodgy world building, sexist depictions of women, tiresome tropes used the same way and ridiculous names you couldn’t even pronounce, so you’d end up giving characters dumb nicknames or else just not carry on reading. Yeah, I got very fed up and made the choice to stick to scifi which, in a lot of ways wasn’t much more progressive but was still more interesting to me.

I think fantasy has changed a LOT from then, a greater variety has sprung up through publishing becoming more diverse etc, which is fantastic. It’s good to see the envelope being pushed and authors coming up with ways to keep fantasy fresh. It’s lured me back, and hopefully will lure others back into the fantasy fold.

You can buy this book in the UK here

And in the US here

Leave a Reply

