2015 Reading Challenge, Book 7: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I may have read this character entirely wrong, but these vlogs are all my opinion so I went with my opinion. I had significant problems with this book. Many thoughts about what concerned me reside within this week’s (much shorter) challenge vlog. I think it’s important to reiterate here that I enjoyed reading this book right up until I finished it and began thinking seriously about what the ending suggested about the content beforehand. It’s well written and very engaging and I certainly would read another book by the same author, albeit with an eye on character etc.

I feel like if he’d held back on the things I describe in the vlog, if he’d just gone for expressing Charlie’s character through his experiences etc and his responses to them without resorting to problematic stereotypes, the book would have been amazing. As it was, it was more troubling than anything else. I say in the vlog I felt misled at the end and yeah, I did. Very much so.

All links below as usual.

Buy the book on Amazon UK here.

Or on Amazon US here.

One thought on “2015 Reading Challenge, Book 7: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Leave a Reply

