Guest Post: Anne Michaud: Girls & Monsters

G&MBANNERThe fabulous, dark Anne Michaud has a deliciously morbid collection of novellas entitled Girls & Monsters coming out with DarkFuse at the end of April (check below for a truly splendid competition – a chance to win a copy of the book and some handmade monsters crafted by Anne herself!). In anticipation of the unleashing of her monsters upon the world I invited her onto my blog as part of her pre-release tour to talk a little bit about what drew her to such beasts in the beginning. So without further ado, here she is:

My love for monsters

I’ve always cheered for them, felt they were misunderstood, that something really bad must have happened for them to get this way. Whether they hid under the bed or creeped behind a closet door, monsters scared me just enough to lure me to them. Therapy, much? Writing is the most inexpensive one, I must admit.

Heroes never did it for me, even in my teens I dreamed of Freddy Krueger’s jokes and having a conversation through the TV with The Poltergeist. While other girls talked about boys with big cars and great hair, I wondered what Jason looked like underneath that mask and if he’d be cute as Sandman. I’ve always loved the dark, always preferred trying to figure out how someone’s intentions rather than having them served on a plate.

Because what makes me connect with monsters is not something bad and mean hiding inside of me, but rather what are their own flaws: monsters have them too – or at least one – and it’s through their demise that I can identify with them. Freddy was a talker; so am I. Jason liked to be left alone; me too. Would Edward and his scissorhands count as a monster? By majority’s standards, probably. But not me, just like Jack and his Nightmare and Beetlejuice, three of my most adored Burton monsters.

Then Dracula came into my life and made me want to live forever, by his side only. Lestat would have made a nice substitute, depending on his band’s music, obviously. Dark, powerful, I never wanted them to die. Does that make me a weirdo? I do hope so, because being normal – and rooting for the hero – doesn’t attract me as much as the dark side.

So I write about them, about the creatures of the night that scare most of us. They are my favorite characters, because some of them are impossible to predict and most of them don’t exist in real life. But I fear not, because I’m not alone as I write them in the day, and they never leave my side at night, either.

Who is Anne Michaud?

She who likes dark things never grew up. She never stopped listening to gothic, industrial and alternative bands like when she was fifteen. She always loved to read horror and dystopia and fantasy, where doom and gloom drip from the pages.

She, who was supposed to make films, decided to write short stories, novelettes and novels instead. She, who’s had her films listed on festival programs, has been printed in a dozen anthologies and magazines since.

She who likes dark things prefers night to day, rain to sun, and reading to anything else.

She blogs http://annecmichaud.wordpress.com

She Facebooks: http://www.facebook.com/annecmichaud

She tweets @annecmichaud

Girls & Monsters Goodreads page: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17335353-girls-monsters

Giveaway!! Softcover copy + The Monster Collection Skellies, 5 pieces handcrafted by the author: http://www.darkfuse.com/contact/view.php?id=10891″ title=”GIRLS & MONSTERS Giveaway”>GIRLS & MONSTERS Giveaway

The winner will be announced during the LIVE CHAT on release day, April 30th at 9PM east http://www.darkfuse.com/events.html

3 thoughts on “Guest Post: Anne Michaud: Girls & Monsters

Leave a Reply

