The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

The lovely Goth Queen Anne Michaud tagged me on this puppy, and I’m only too happy to oblige as, the brain being as it is in edit mode it appears to have lost any usable blog inspiration functionality. So, forth and onwards etc to the answering of the questions:

What is the working title of your book? COIL
Where did the idea come from for the book? Possibly my interest in how we learn who we are – the formation of selfhood, especially under circumstances that might be considered traumatising. I was doing some automatic writing exercises many years ago and wrote the pivotal scene and it wouldn’t leave me. I wanted to know why the scene had occurred, because it was so damned strange. (And no, I’m not telling what it is – so ner).
What genre does your book fall under? SF Bio-Punk Thriller
Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Seriously not a clue. I’ve got some very odd characters.
What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? In a world where modification is the norm, a Mortician who hates his empty skin will discover the horrific reason behind its mod-free state, and end up fighting for it.
Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? Repped by my kickarsin’ agent, Jen Udden of Donald Maass.
How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? A year. Yeah, I know, slooooooow. Took me six-months-ish to rewrite it, too. Call me a snail. I won’t be offended. Just shamed. SHAMED. 
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Ummmm, I’m not sure anyone is writing anything like this. Though I suppose it’s in the vein of writing where you’d find Kathe Koja’s early works and Lukyanenko’s Night Watch trilogy. 
Who or What inspired you to write this book? The scene that would not leave, and new characters who kept hijacking the story as it was. I wanted to explore their world and get to know them. Turns out they’ve got a lot to tell, as Coil is the first novel in a trilogy.
What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? It’s bonkers, frightening, tense, unusual, never pulls its punches and will leave you feeling strange. Strange is good.

Right, now I have to nominate five people to roll this on to. And thus I nominate:

KTScribbles

Anne-Mhairi Simpson

J.Birch

Laura Diamond

Fran Terminiello

Please go and check them all out, as they’re all pretty darned awesome. Thanks for reading!
One thought on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

